Checking in with a few things that we went to over the past month. Check out these events and put them on your calendar for next year. Shoot me any other events to write about that you guys will be participating in this Holiday Season!

  • Thanksgiving Drumstick Dash

I played lacrosse in college. Every year to kick off the first day of practice, our team would run a timed mile at midnight on the track. Coach set the time at 5 minutes and 45 seconds. I am not a fast runner, I didn’t make time my freshmen year, but did the next three years. There was nothing worse than the anxiety leading up to the midnight mile. It was the first opportunity to show what you had done in the offseason to prepare for lacrosse season. It was a breeze for some of the guys, and a nightmare for the rest of us.

After I graduated, I vowed to NEVER run a timed race again. Then I got married.

On Thanksgiving morning Chelsie and I ran the Drumstick Dash 5k in downtown Roanoke, VA. Chelsie has run this before, but it was the first time I had ever run a 5k. I came home from work one day and she “surprised” me by signing us up to run the race. She explained to me that the proceeds go to the Roanoke Rescue Mission, to feed the less fortunate during the holiday season. It was pretty easy to convince me after that.

We ran the full race together, crossing the line in 28:57. She finished 282 out of 1367 women running. I finished 699 out of 1459 men.

Those numbers don’t matter, these ones do:

The Drumstick Dash raised $265,000 for the food service division of the Rescue Mission in 2016! This year, they raised another $136,000 from corporate sponsorships!

We had a blast and it was worth it to run a few miles knowing that it was going to help feed someone that otherwise may not have that opportunity. We will be back next year. Maybe we will form a group to raise even more!

Learn more here:

https://drumstickdash.net/race-info.php

http://rescuemission.net/

  • TSO

This past Wednesday, Chelsie and I went to see the Trans-Siberian Orchestra in Richmond. I had been to the show several times as a kid with my parents, so mom and dad treated Chelsie and I to tickets as our Christmas present. Basically, TSO is a heavy metal band by summer, Christmas Hard Rock Symphony Orchestra by winter. It is an incredible show to go to, I highly recommend it.

The coolest part about TSO is that they take $1 from every ticket sold and donate it to a local charity for the holidays. At the Richmond show, they raised over $8,000 for Feed More, a Richmond area program that runs the local Meal on Wheels. Lead guitarist Chris Caffrey said that they have raised over $14 Million in the 20 year history of TSO for local charities!

Here is a cool interview with founder Paul O’Neill about TSO with a snippet about their donations about 1/3 through.

